2018/19 penny over date?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Jake Barone, Nov 24, 2019.

1. Jake Barone

Jake Barone New Member

So I was going through some change and found this interesting penny! I’d like to know if there is more like it

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That is a copper plated zinc cent. The 8 has either a die chip or plating blister in it.
    It's impossible for an overdate to occur with the new minting technology. The reason it might look like a 9 is called Paredolia.

4. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Agree with @paddyman98. Looks like a die chip to me.

Evan Saltis and Jake Barone like this.
  5. Jake Barone

Jake Barone New Member

I’ll take a better picture what do y’all recommend using for the clearest most sharp tool? So y’all can see the coin more clearly I only have an 11.5x

6. paddyman98

Don't bother.. It's not an overdate and you will never convince anyone with any new pictures.

John Burgess and Amos 811 like this.
  7. Jake Barone

Jake Barone New Member

I’m not trynna convince anyone I’m extremely new to this that’s why I was asking

8. paddyman98

I gave you a simple answer. Did you understand it?
    There is no other way to explain it. Worn dies after many strikes chip away at certain points especially with the numerals and leave Die Chips. It may look like a 9 over an 8 but it is not.

Amos 811 likes this.
  9. Jake Barone

Jake Barone New Member

Okay thank you

paddyman98 likes this.
  10. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

I most of the time just use my phone. Sometimes I shoot a picture through my loupe. Others here have much fancier set ups but I find that for most things it is unnecessary.

Jake Barone likes this.
  11. Hoky77

Hoky77 Well-Known Member