2017 Fredrick Douglas

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by eric6794, Jul 23, 2017.

1. eric6794

eric6794 Well-Known Member

Hey I just wanted to share this Fredrick Douglass quarter and see what everyone's opinion is on it. I have found a few that look like it by searching google and everyone is saying MD I agree but everything I have read said the coin has raised lines but this coin has recessed line on the G and the 2 SS on Douglass. I do not fully understand the concept of MD on recessed coins so what are your all thoughts. doug1.jpg

FireFighterRyan37 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Paddy54

Paddy54 Well-Known Member

Perhaps a strike through ?

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Very interesting!...
    glass.JPG

eric6794 likes this.
  5. steve.e

steve.e Cherry picker

Agreed very interesting indeed. This could be something. I'm going to go out on a limb and say doubled die. You should consider sending this to Wexler.

eric6794 likes this.
  6. trussell

trussell Active Member

I hear that he is doing a great job.

JMGallego likes this.
  7. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

I don't understand this either, I have shown quite a few with recessed double dates, etc. The answer I have gotten was MD, someone here has a reference to why they are deemed MD. Although the experts say that it could be possible but not likely.

eric6794 likes this.
  8. JMGallego

JMGallego Active Member

Yes, very interesting! From what mint is it?

eric6794 likes this.
  9. eric6794

Philadelphia, Sorry for not posting the entire coin I usually do but I was in a hurry last night and this coin was perplexing me lol. I'll post full pic when I get home later.

10. eric6794

Here are a few more pics including 2 under incandescent lighting doug2.jpg doug3.jpg doug4.jpg doug5.jpg doug6.jpg doug7.jpg doug8.jpg

11. eric6794