2017 Ellis Island Quarters Abnormalities

Discussion in 'Coin Roll Hunting' started by TexAg, Oct 1, 2017.

1. TexAg

TexAg Well-Known Member

Found these 2 yesterday and they both have identical, multiple abnormalities on the obverse at approximately the 1, 7, 9, & 11 o'clock positions. The areas in question are in the field of the coin and are marked in my pictures. They are rough in texture compared to the rest of the field. When I saw the first one, I thought perhaps a strike through. But when I found the 2nd coin with identical issues I decided to post and ask your opinions. Maybe the planchets were damaged prior to the die strike? Thanks for looking.
    P1010914.JPG P1010915.JPG P1010917.JPG
    P1010918.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Searcher64

Searcher64 Member

grease blocks

Rick Stachowski likes this.
  4. TexAg

TexAg Well-Known Member

Forgot a pic of reverse!
    P1010911.JPG

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

They were probably struck from the same Die which had started to become Deteriorated. Not a Planchet Error.

And they both look like they are Slightly Misaligned Die Strikes.

6. SorenCoins

SorenCoins Well-Known Member

Yes that is die damage from prolonged use.

TexAg likes this.
  7. TexAg

TexAg Well-Known Member

Thanks for the feedback guys. Found a 3rd Ellis Island quarter from the same batch of coins with just the abnormality at the 7 o'clock position. Maybe this 3rd coins was struck before the other two with less die deterioration?
    P1010923.JPG P1010925.JPG
    P1010924.JPG

The last photo is taken with my camera truly perpendicular to rule out angle of camera on previous photos and its influence on Slightly Misaligned Die strikes. It does appear to be a slightly wider rim on south end of coin.
    P1010927.JPG

Attached Files:

paddyman98 likes this.
  8. Lester Maddox

Lester Maddox Member

Hey TexAg,