2016 10 Cent Multi-error

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Jeff Callahan, Jun 9, 2023.

1. Jeff Callahan

Jeff Callahan Active Member

A friend of mine handed me this coin tonight and I decided to post it here for you guys to discuss. Aside from the obvious error, I noticed additional features about. I always got picked on by some members for seeing errors on coins when there weren't any, which comes with being a novice. I have actually all but stopped coin collecting and really never advanced any further. For that reason, I prefer not to list what I saw to save face because I am still a novice. I know that a lot of you guys know what to look for and can eliminate what others see as errors immediately. I look forward to seeing your comments. 20230609_004743.jpg 20230609_005041.jpg 20230609_005158.jpg 20230609_005632.jpg 20230609_005800.jpg 20230609_005934.jpg 20230609_010315.jpg 20230609_011154.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cwart

cwart Senior Member Supporter

The lack of the blakesy effect across from the missing chunk on the dime makes me think its more likely damage than an error. The strike also seems pretty sharp for a coin that had a piece missing when it was struck. I'm not an expert on errors by any means, but I always think its best to think horses instead of zebras when dealing with coins. Think common and work from there, it usually helps.

4. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

VistaCruiser69 and -jeffB like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That is no mint error of any kind.
    It's DEFDAM - Definitely Damaged :yack:

Somehow the clad on the Obverse broke off exposing the copper in between the planchet. The raised rim on the Reverse also looks dented a bit.
    Only person who caused the damage would know how it occurred.

Just because you see something different, strange or weird doesn't automatically make it an error.