2015 Proof Set

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by The Banker, Aug 3, 2015.

1. The Banker

The Banker New Member

Have a question for everyone. I am still new to coin collecting myself and do not own any proof sets. My wife and I welcomed our first child into the world and wanted to start him off right with collecting. I am thinking of buying him 2015 proof set. Just wanted peoples thought on what I should be getting him. Should I be buying the Uncirculated Coin Set 2015 plus the proof set? Should I buy the regular proof set or silver or both? Any input would be great.

paddyman98 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

If it were me, I'd opt for the silver proof set. However, if you can afford it, I'd also get the Uncirculated Mint Set so that your child will be able to see the difference between the two.

Chris

The Banker likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Why not get all the sets?!
    Your kid will love them so much when he gets older ;)

The Banker likes this.
  5. green18

green18 Unknown member Sweet on Commemorative Coins Supporter

Back in the eighties I bought multiples of proof sets for my girls. Now that they're all grown up, they could care less for the sets. I'm saving these for the grand kids....if I ever get any. :)

6. The Banker

The Banker New Member

I was thinking of getting the uncirculated set and then the mint set and silver mint set just didn't know if that was overkill.

7. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member

buying birth year sets for your 1st child (or future children) can never be "overkill"...

The Banker likes this.
  8. 19Lyds

19Lyds Member of the United States of Confusion

Ahhhh. If only our kids actually turned out the way we wanted them too.

My one son, would spend whatever I gave him and my other son hangs on to what I give him but has absolutely no interest in coins.