2015 Kisatchie Quarter error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Olease, Jan 21, 2019.

1. Olease

Olease New Member

What happened to this quarter? Is it a mint error or faked?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is neither a mint error or a fake.
    It's called PMD - Post Mint Damage
    Looks like another smaller coin was pressed against the obverse to create the circular damage.

4. Olease

Olease New Member

How? I've never seen anything like this before.

5. paddyman98

Well now you have.. I have seen many.
    Only the person that created the damage would know how it was done. I just know it didn't leave the Mint looking like that.

Olease likes this.
  6. Olease

Olease New Member

Does it look like the word QUARTER has some doubling? That is the one part of this wacky coin that made me wonder...

Inspector43 likes this.
  7. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

No. The strange look is due to the damage. I agree with @paddyman98 explanation. Somebody pressed another coin into it.

8. Inspector43

Inspector43 Celebrating 75 Years Active Collecting Supporter

I don't understand how pressing a smaller coin against it would result in some letters being completely doubled. An example is the T in the word QUARTER. I can see how that process could cut some letters in half and move the remaining partial letter. But, some of the letters seem to be more than just the other portion of what was there originally.

Olease likes this.
  9. Oldhoopster

This coin has had at least 3 encounters another coin. You can the part of the IN GOD WE TRUST from a quarter along with 2 rim circles, some outlines of Washington and additional flattening along the top rim. Note how the reverse is flattened as well. If this was something that took place in the coining chamber, the reverse would be fully struck, not flattened.