2014 Frankenquarter Smokey Mountains Error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Sean I Gonzales, Apr 4, 2020.

1. Sean I Gonzales

Sean I Gonzales New Member

Hello I just wanted to know how a coins face can get another coins reeding edge mark on it. I have a 2014 smokey mountain quarter and on the face of it it looks like a Frenkenquarter washington due to the stitch like appearance on his face. Here are some pictures with normal and different lighting. Noone seems to be able to tell me how it happens, they say it's not PMD but it doesnt happen at the mint so just wondering where. Lol. Thanks for your information or whatever light you can shed. I just found this info (last 4 pictures enclosed in pictures )about the reeding on coins edges and their obverse...it sounds as if it could be a mint error all be it an extremely rare error?)

Regards,

Sean Gonzales

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Is it possible to post a picture of the full Obverse side? o_O

4. Sean I Gonzales

Yes no problem give me 5 min

5. Sean I Gonzales

Attached Files:

6. Sean I Gonzales

Heres another pic let me know if you need anything else amd thank you so much for any light you cam shed.

Attached Files:

7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Reeded edge marks occur when the coins are being dropped into the Mint Bags. They are known as contact marks. Your Quarter also has a circular ring going around the Obverse. That is caused by a paper coin roll crimper machine.

Welcome to CoinTalk.

8. Sean I Gonzales