2014 Arches quarter error?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by TopcatCoin, Jul 15, 2017.

1. I am putting together a National Park Quarters folder today and found an interesting "extra rock formation" at the top of this 2014 Arches quarter. The pics are not the best but you can clearly see the difference between the coin in question (1st two pics) compared to a typical one (3rd, 4th pics). I am thinking this is just a cud, correct? Regardless, it's a great place for it. What do you think? Thanks, TC
    20170715_160501427.png 20170715_160547584.png 20170715_160523003.png 20170715_160558261.png

Rassi, Tyler Graton and ken454 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Not a CUD but a huge Die Chip.. nice one.

TopcatCoin likes this.
  4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

Agreed!

@TopcatCoin - A cud is a break along the rim that extends into the field. There are some collectors who call a simple break on the rim to be a rim cud. (I'm not one of them!)

Chris

TopcatCoin likes this.
  5. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Very nice error coin I believe.

TopcatCoin likes this.
  6. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

Wow, that does look like an extra rock!

TopcatCoin likes this.
  7. davidh

davidh soloist gnomic

It probably is a die chip but... Most die chips have irregular outlines, as does yours, but have little detail within that outline, being relatively smooth like a cud. Yours certainly looks like an extra rock and none of the quarter error/variety sites have any other similar reported. You may have a keeper, with future value for error collectors.

TopcatCoin and Kentucky like this.
  8. Kentucky

Kentucky Supporter! Supporter

I know I'm going to be looking!!!

9. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

Kasia and TopcatCoin like this.