2009-D Dime Die Chip?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by dallas_214, Oct 14, 2020.

1. dallas_214

dallas_214 Member

Is this a die chip on the reverse of the coin, to the right of the bottom of the torch?
    Wed Oct 14 13-42-37.jpg Wed Oct 14 13-44-14.jpg Wed Oct 14 13-27-00.jpg Wed Oct 14 13-28-13.jpg Wed Oct 14 13-28-52.jpg Wed Oct 14 13-40-28.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

If you look you can see Striations on the field. That is a sign of Die Deterioration. So that would be a die chip.. Smallest one ever in the history of die chips.

Oldhoopster and dallas_214 like this.
  4. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I just don't understand why some people are so interested in minor chips and cracks. They aren't unique to a coin, and they don't add any value to them, either.

Now, I know that I will probably get a nasty response to my comments, but that is just how I feel.

jamor1960 and SensibleSal66 like this.
  5. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

I know, right .

6. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Well-Known Member

Yep, but NAV.

7. Tankkiller275

Tankkiller275 Active Member

Don't they add importance when used to verify a DDO/DDR? Or the variety of DDO/DDR?

8. Heavymetal

Heavymetal Well-Known Member

494B5B0A-AC59-4BBF-98B9-EF7BEBAE0193.jpeg Not all die chips are created equal
    I saved a few over my CRH career

Collecting Nut likes this.
  9. John Burgess

John Burgess Well-Known Member

in my opinion people like them because it interests them. I have no idea why people walk on the beach and pick up shells, but they do it because it interests them. maybe one day the shells lead to finding a lost piece of jewelry, then that leads to buying a metal detector.