2008 Roosevelt Dime cowlick error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by bobbeth87, Apr 21, 2009.

1. bobbeth87

bobbeth87 Coin Collector

I'm new to the forum. Hi everyone.

In going through change last night, I ran across a 2008 P dime with a little extra metal sticking out of the back of Roosevelt's head as it he had a cowlick. It looked like it might be a die error, or maybe damage. Then, the next one I looked at, also a 2008 P, had a significant cowlick out of the back of his head. It looks obvious to me that it is some kind of die error.

Here's my question. I'm fairly new to coin collecting (loved it as a kid, did nothing for 30 years, then inherited my Dad's old collection which lit my fire for the hobby again), what do I do with this? Is there a good place to go to sell this kind of thing? Verify it? Help.

Thanks.

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rockdude

rockdude Coin Collector

Welcome to the forum:hail:. The first thing we would appreciate is a picture of what you're talking about, then we can tell you what it is and it's value if any over face.

4. byrd740

byrd740 Numismatist

It would help if you had pictures but it may be a lamination error. BTW, welcome to CoinTalk.

5. bobbeth87

bobbeth87 Coin Collector

I'll take a picture tonight and put it on (I'm at work). It is really quite pronounced...

6. rockdude

rockdude Coin Collector

It sounds like it could be a die chip. Some of the earlier Roosevelt's had some good ones.

7. bobbeth87

bobbeth87 Coin Collector

Is a "die chip" worth something?

8. rockdude

rockdude Coin Collector

Some people will pay extra for them, if that what it is.

9. bobbeth87

bobbeth87 Coin Collector

Picture of the error

Here is a couple of pictures. They aren't that sharp. I'll try again with sunlight as I think my camera will do better with that... IMG_0894.jpg

IMG_0895.jpg

IMG_0896.jpg

10. bobbeth87

bobbeth87 Coin Collector

The "cowlick" is at the back of the head.