2006 penny pulls on magnet

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Wilddavy, Oct 22, 2019.

1. Wilddavy

Wilddavy Active Member

I thought it been weathered, but looks diff from the rest I seen well I tried the mag to it and it pulls in it so not sure what's y'alls thoughts.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

If a magnet attracts it it is almost certainly nickel plated.

Wilddavy likes this.
  4. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Looks plated.

Wilddavy likes this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Old magicians coin that got lost in change by a magician. I have a magic trick using a special plated Cent and a magnet.

Wilddavy likes this.
  6. Wilddavy

Wilddavy Active Member

What's that mean plated ? Like with what. I guess

7. Wilddavy

Wilddavy Active Member

To funny my wife said the same thing lol

paddyman98 likes this.
  8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

By the way.. A magnet would pull on a metal that is ferromagnetic.. Not the other way around.

Wilddavy likes this.
  9. Wilddavy

Wilddavy Active Member

Man I tell ya what I love about this group keep on learning everyday.
    Mr obvious lol.

JeffC, Kentucky and paddyman98 like this.
  10. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Zinc Cents are plated with a thin layer of copper. Reprocessed 1943 Cents are plated. You can take a copper cent and apply nickel to the coin. Now it's plated.

Wilddavy likes this.
  11. Wilddavy

Wilddavy Active Member

I see. Thanks.

12. Wilddavy

Wilddavy Active Member

The coin was struck on the wrong planchet
    But thanks for help. Lol

13. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

See post #2.