2005 California Quarter Unknown Error Discovery or die deteriation? Please Help Me!

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by penidave, Sep 11, 2009.

1. penidave

penidave PennyGirl

Please help me figure this out. I recently found a 2005 California Quarter with beautiful, what appears to be, DDR. The coin is also oddly colored on the reverse. Almost like the silver plating wasn't thick enough so the copper shows through throughout the entire reverse side. The coin has what appears to be distinctive doubling on the face, down the arm, on the hand, on the bird tail and completely throughout the name "John Muir". I have included two pictures of the face. I have pictures of all doubling if needed to help you help me figure this out. I am a newbie at errors so I am unsure if this is a one of kind discovery. I searched and searched the interenet and have not found any like mine. Not even close. Please take a moment and help me. Thanks sooo much for your time. Penny
    :desk:

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. jello

jello Not Expert★NormL®

1st Welcome

To Cointalk!

Can you post a larger photo???

4. penidave

penidave PennyGirl

ok, I will try right away... brb..
    I'm still trying to figure this site out.. :) Please please pretty please bare with me..

5. jello

jello Not Expert★NormL®

no big rush talk your time.

6. penidave

penidave PennyGirl

I hope these are better.

Attached Files:

7. jello

jello Not Expert★NormL®

Can you post one like this??

Attached Files:

8. rockdude

rockdude Coin Collector

Welcome to the forum penidave. It looks like machine doubling damage on that quarter.

9. penidave

penidave PennyGirl

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I hope this is better. Not sure why they're coming out so small. They're 225 KB... figures! lol

10. rockdude

rockdude Coin Collector

11. penidave

penidave PennyGirl

Hey Rockdude,
    Thank you for your help.... Here's a pic of the wing part too. Maybe that will help a bit