2004 D jefferson nickle error

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Alexander Sanchez, Nov 30, 2019.

1. Alexander Sanchez

Alexander Sanchez Active Member

1.4mm in width weight is 4.9 is this odd ? Looks diferent. What do you guys think? received_629190860950417-1.jpg received_811756339294540-1.jpg received_759342881250007-1.jpg received_493769337901542-1.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Colby J.

Colby J. Well-Known Member

Nope. Go spend it.

Alexander Sanchez likes this.
  4. Alexander Sanchez

Alexander Sanchez Active Member

think IL save it for my kids.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Use a real measuring device for coins. Not an app.

Looks normal to me.

6. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I had nothing better to do this morning, so I decided to conduct a "scientifically unscientific" survey on some of my uncirculated 2004 P&D Peace Medal nickels that came from $50 Mint bags. I measured the thickness and weight of six "P" in addition to six "D" so that there would be a comparison between the two mints.

NOTE: The Red Book doesn't list the thickness for the nickels, and my measurement is from rim-to-rim. The Red Book lists the weight at 5 gms.

These were my findings:
    2004-P
    1)1.78mm/5.0gms; 2)1.76mm/4.8gms; 3)1.74mm/5.1gms; 4)1.79mm/4.9gms; 5)1.78mm/5.0gms; 6)1.77mm/4.8gms
    2004-D
    1)1.85mm/4.9gms; 2)1.85mm/4.9gms; 3)1.93mm/4.8gms; 4)1.81mm/5.0gms; 5)1.84mm/4.9gms; 6)1.93mm/4.9gms

You may draw whatever conclusions you want from this information.

Chris

Mike185, MatrixMP-9 and ldhair like this.
  7. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

Average weight for each mint is the same. 4.9gms Same as the coin posted.

P average thickness is 1.77mm
    D average thickness is 1.86mm
    The coin posted is 1.4mm

My conclusions.
    The rims have worn on the coin posted.
    Denver coins are fat.
    I need a drink after doing math this time of morning.;)

Johndoe2000$ likes this.