2003 dime on copper planchet??

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Pennys2pesos, Jan 29, 2019.

1. Pennys2pesos

Pennys2pesos New Member

I think this dime was struck on a Cooper penny planchet.. there's no other dime I've found from 2003 with this error???

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

That is because it is not a Mint Error.
    It's Environmental Damage to the clad surface.

Soil, dirt, sand, weather and the elements can affect the appearance of any coin. I metal detect and have found hundreds of coins such as yours.
    Here are some Quarters I found. Same clad and copper core as dimes - 20171224_140434.jpg

4. paddyman98

Also.. If it were struck on a Cent (penny) Planchet it would be the same size, thickness and weight of a Cent.. Think about it ;)

5. paddyman98

I also have been collecting mint errors for almost 34 years. I specialize in errors.
    There are clad coin errors known as missing clad errors but unfortunately it is not what you have. It usually occurs on just one side of a clad coin.
    Here are many examples from my collection -
    004.jpg Capture+_2017-02-01-12-55-56.png 2593338-001.JPG 607580-1.jpg

6. Pennys2pesos

Pennys2pesos New Member

Your incorrect if you can determine the errors on a coin from a picture you should open a booth. I have shown this coin to over 42 friends and 3 coin shops this dime has a composition that's is at the least 40 percent copper that when you look at the difference between your rusted coins and mine is night and day I could post weatherd coins and this is not post mint..it's a real composition or planchet error..

Wagering or betting is not allowed on the forums!

Last edited by a moderator: May 10, 2021
  7. Pennys2pesos

Pennys2pesos New Member

8. paddyman98