2000 P sacagawea coin weird looking

Discussion in 'US Coins Forum' started by Write2bfree, Feb 3, 2016.

1. Write2bfree

Write2bfree Active Member

Can anyone tell me if I should wash this coin off with water? It looks nice but don't know if this would devalue a coin. Thank you.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

A $1.00 coin washed with water would be worth.. $1.00

4. coloradobryan

coloradobryan Well-Known Member

In its condition, you can do anything to it, and its still worth a dollar.

5. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

value: $1.

cleaned: $1

6. Write2bfree

Honestly I could care less about the value. It just looks really different, like a sketch. I just took someone elses advice that it might be worth more than face value, but I understand it will stay 1 dollar forever. Im assuming this thread might turn into a broken record. Hahaha.

7. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Do anything you want to the dollar coin and in the end, it's still worth one dollar. :)

8. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I suspect that this is one of the earliest production coins. 2000 was the first year for the Sacagawea "golden dollar" and the Mint immediately ran into problems because the finish started turning an ugly puke greenish-brown in circulation. They experimented with different "washes" for treating the planchets prior to striking the coins and eventually succeeded in correcting the problem.

Some less-than-honest hucksters on SleazeBay attempted to cash in on the phenomenon by claiming that these coins had an experimental finish. Sorry, but this coin is only worth $1.

Chris

green18, Paul M. and Write2bfree like this.
  9. Write2bfree

Thank you chris...this was what I was looking for, an explanation.

10. physics-fan3.14

physics-fan3.14 You got any more of them.... prooflikes?