2000 Lincoln penny error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Dj67, Jul 19, 2017.

1. Dj67

Dj67 Active Member

Hello,
    Going trough some pocket change, came across this one which it looks as if Lincoln has a mustache Thanks Have a Nice Day!

Attached Files:

paddyman98 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Dougmeister

Dougmeister Well-Known Member

Hmm. Whenever I see a new member posting questions on "is this an error?", 90% of the time I expect to see post-mint damage. I'm no expert, but this looks intriguing to me.

I know there are varieties where Abe's beard is doubled:

https://www.thespruce.com/extra-beard-penny-error-768752
    http://www.numismaster.com/ta/numis/Article.jsp?ArticleId=3811

but I've never seen this one and couldn't find it in a quick Google search.

Knowing what I do know of the process, I don't see how this could be made at the U.S. Mint, though.

Looking forward to hearing from the real experts here.

Either way, it's a cool find. Congrats!

Dj67 likes this.
  4. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

I don't know if it's an error or a variety, but there has been a discussion here about a 2000 cent that is known as the "camel lips" version, or something like that. I wrote that I thought it was because Abe spent all that money upgrading his PC's for Y2K and then nothing happened.

I think you are showing us the "camel lips" variety.

With software now creating hubs, rather than old school reducing machines, almost any wacky thing is possible (see the many window pane varieties in the Nebraska Homestead ATB quarter) but most of them had to be done intentionally by Mint jokers.

Last edited: Jul 19, 2017
    SmokinJoe, cpm9ball and Dj67 like this.
  5. u812?

u812? Better-Known Member

This coin does not have much wear on it so it looks like his beard from in front of his ear to his neck looks wrinkled instead of smooth or beardy looking.

SmokinJoe likes this.