2 euro coin 2017 rheinland Pfalz double stars error?

Discussion in 'World Coins' started by Sonicattitude, Jan 4, 2019.

1. Sonicattitude

Sonicattitude New Member

Hello to the forum! Look what I found , what do u think? You can clearly see the stars and the "LL" which I think they are double died.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Too me they look Flat and Shelflike
    Probably Mechanical or Deterioration doubling..

It's just Doubled Die.. Not double died :dead::dead:

Spark1951 and Oldhoopster like this.
  4. Sonicattitude

Sonicattitude New Member

I don't speak English fluently. I am from another country. As always irony is your thing. What do u mean by mechanical doubling

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

I am here to try to give you the best answer.
    I am not trying to be ironic. Sorry if you feel that way. What language do you speak?
    Maybe I can find some information for you in your language.

6. Sonicattitude

Sonicattitude New Member

It is OK! I apologize too.. I speak Greek. Thank u for your help! If you can't find something no problem

paddyman98 likes this.
  7. Rick Stachowski

Rick Stachowski Motor City Car Capital

Here's some info on MD .
    http://www.error-ref.com/machine-doubling/

But I'm not sure if that's what it is .
    This coin is a 2 piece coin and could be a doubled die .

I need better images to know for sure ..

8. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

It is definitely interesting. The way that the details change when the design jits the outer ring of metal (harder composition) I would suspect that it is Die deterioration,
    Not only that but the extra metal is surrounding the devices or design.

9. Sonicattitude

Sonicattitude New Member

Unfortunately I can't take better photos

Attached Files:

10. Cucumbor

Cucumbor Well-Known Member