2 differnt color inks for Serial numbers?

Discussion in 'Paper Money' started by Facevalue, Mar 15, 2019.

1. Facevalue

Facevalue Active Member

Anyone seen this before? IMG_20190315_140110_927.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Yes. It happens.

4. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Well-Known Member

I've not seen it that obvious before. In the third over printing, the black seal, directly above the left side serial #, is printed and I suppose it could have darkened the serial number, but I'm not that versed on the process of inking. I'm sure
    SteveInTampa or one of the other currency experts would know.

5. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

I don't believe it is 2 different colored inks. Yes the lower left is a little darker than the upper right. Depends on the way the plate/ bed was inked and which side got more and which side got less.

6. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

The green ink can be attacked by chemicals in the environment causing it to fade, change shades or even look yellowish. In addition, all the green on the front is printed at the same time, so there really isn't a way for there to be 2 diff inks.

Your note has seen a lot of circulation and was exposed to something that caused part of it too fade

7. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Yes it does happen.

8. Mountain Man

Mountain Man Well-Known Member

9. Numbers

Numbers Senior Member