$2.5 Indian Gold - What do you think?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by ckachu16, Jun 17, 2009.

1. ckachu16

ckachu16 The "Doc& amp ;amp;amp ;quot ;

This is the first gold Indian coin I have ever bought and I am still learning about these coins. It is supposed to be uncirculated, I will leave that up to you guys. The questions that I have are 1) What is hanging from its neck on the left of the feathers or "tasssels" hanging from the headress. It looks like it is supposed to be loose neck skin but I dont see that on any other examples of this coin? 2) Do you think that this coin is actually uncirculated? I am planning on sending it in to get graded but first wanted to get your opinion. Thanks

Attached Files:

• 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      30.8 KB
      Views:
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      32.3 KB
      Views:
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Hobo

Hobo Squirrel Hater

Where did you get this coin?

My first concern would be whether the coin is genuine or not. You say this is the first Indian Gold you have bought. Am I to assume you are not super, super familiar with these coins? If so, it may not be the wisest thing for you to buy a raw Indian Gold coin.

Indian Gold is heavily, heavily, heavily counterfeited. I cannot say one way or the other whether your coin is genuine or fake from your photos but you brought up a concern about a design feature on your coin that should not be there. That should be a huge warning flag - especially on a raw Indian $2 1/2. It could be clash marks or it could be a counterfeit.

Post larger photos if you can. Also see if you can get the entire coin in focus. The top of the coin is out of focus in both photos. (You may have the coin tilted. Try shooting the photo straight on.)

And . . .

Lots of times counterfeits lack fine details so what you think may be wear could be missing detail that was never there.

4. Leadfoot

Leadfoot there is no spoon