1C - Blank Planchet - Explore & Discover - NGC Dated!

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by paddyman98, Jan 26, 2021.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hello everyone,
    My latest acquisition..

In 2019 the US Mint created a special set called the Explore and Discover set. It included a 1 Cent Blank Planchet. Someone sent the Blank Planchet to NGC and it was certified. Blank usually aren't dated because there is no way to tell when they were made.. This one is dated because of the set.
    Not labeled a Mint Error because it was specifically made for the set. It would be an error if it escaped the Mint.

Thoughts? o_O

Purchased from Sullivan Numismatics -
    20210126_100012.jpg 20210126_100021.jpg Capture+_2021-01-26-10-03-03.png Capture+_2021-01-26-10-02-06.png

@Collecting Nut
    Here is the item I was going to tag you in ;)

Last edited: Jan 26, 2021
    expat, ddddd, tibor and 2 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. John Burgess

John Burgess Well-Known Member

Hmmm. Depends on what you paid for it I suppose but if you like it you like it and that's all there is to it.

I was curious. no info on it apparently for sales or population. hahaha trying to find out how many people might have done this with that planchet from that set.
    Capture5603.PNG

That was a fun little research project. I really hope you got a good deal on it. Sullivan in my opinion is a little on the expensive side for most stuff they sell,,, again in my opinion. LOL

Last edited: Jan 26, 2021
  4. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

That's a great item to have. I bought the set but I never thought of doing this. If I had, I would have bought more than a single set. A nice addition to your growing collection.

5. paddyman98