1C - 2000 - Wide "AM" or WAM!

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by paddyman98, Feb 1, 2018.

1. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hi all,
    Nothing major today. I just acquired this 1 Cent 2000 Wide "AM" or as it is known as... a WAM!
    Honestly I never bothered with WAM's or CAM's but thought it wouldn't hurt to own one.
    Capture+_2018-02-01-13-42-34.png Capture+_2018-02-01-13-42-51.png

Here is some information on the Cent I have -

2000 Lincoln Memorial Cent Small Cents : Wide AM
    Copper Plated Zinc Penny
    Mintage: N/A
    Minted at: Philadelphia

Designer - Engraver: Frank Gasparro
    Metal Composition: 97.5% Zinc - 2.5% Copper after 1982

Diameter: 19 mm
    Mass / Weight: 2.5 grams

What this coin looks like (obverse, reverse, mint mark location, special features, etc.):
    [​IMG]
    The US Mint produced two major varieties of the 2000 Lincoln Memorial Cent (Penny). The most common variety for 2000 is the close "AM" variety. Although the one shown above is the rarer wide "AM" variety for this year.

In the word "AMERICA" on the reverse of the coin: The close "AM" meant that the letters "A" and "M" were very close and almost touching while the wide "AM" had the two letters separated much more. In Addition: The initials "FG" was closer to the Lincoln Memorial Building on the wide "AM" variety and it was further away on the close "AM" variety. The difference between the close "AM" and wide "AM" varieties are shown in the example image below. Click the image to enlarge:

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 1, 2018
    LaCointessa, eric6794, ken454 and 5 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Fallguy

Fallguy Active Member

KOOL!!! I still have yet to find one of these things in the "raw"; anybody else been luckier (or more skilled)???

paddyman98 likes this.
  4. Dave363

Dave363 Well-Known Member