1999 Roosevelt Dime Error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Gecko99, Jan 24, 2020.

1. Gecko99

Gecko99 New Member

I have a Philadelphia Roosevelt dime, that looks like part of it may be a grease strike on the obverse and reverse, but the reason I really want to post this is the fact that it does not have a reeded edge. Now i know some of you may dismiss it right away as filing for scrap or maybe even a dryer coin. it is the same thickness and weight that it should be, 0.08 OZ(2.268 g). The edge has part of the clad layer visible, and there is no evidence of it being hammered since its not misshapen. Let me know what you think please!!
    20200124_0030301.jpg 20200124_0030501.jpg 20200124_0032291.jpg 20200124_0033051.jpg 20200124_0033131.jpg 20200124_0033301.jpg 20200124_0036131.jpg 20200124_0037111.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

The edge is damaged.
    If you understood the minting process you would know that there are 3 dies. The Hammer Die, the Anvil Die and the Collar Die. The first two create the Obvere and Reverse image. The third holds the Blank Planchet in place and has the reed design. When the Planchet is struck with many tons of pressure the third die creates the reeds on the edge. The only time the reeds are not created is when it is Broadstruck meaning it was struck out of the collar. Your Dime is obviously not Broadstruck because in that case the it would be larger in circumference than normal.

Either someone hammered or Spooned your dime. Something that we have seen many times before.

The surface is just circulation damage.

The weight does not matter. Coins could have a plus or minus in weight variance to begin with. So it could of been a liitle bit heavier and with and small loss in material it could still be the correct weight it should be afterwards.