1999 D Jefferson Nickel: Off Center and Brockage?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by bqcoins, Sep 15, 2015.

1. bqcoins

bqcoins Olympic Figure Skating Scoring System Expert

I found this in a small coin store in Michigan last week while I was up for a buddy's wedding. It is about say 60-70% off center, but then on what would be the obverse there appears that another blank was in the press when it was struck...or another coin, I'm not sure. What exactly would this error be classified as and can anyone tell me what is going on on the right hand side of monticello, I can't seem to find those elements on the obverse of a regular jefferson nickel. IMGP3140.JPG IMGP3141.JPG IMGP3143.JPG IMGP3144.JPG

TJ1952, NSP, tommyc03 and 7 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. KoinJester

KoinJester Well-Known Member

Sweet

rickmp likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Nice Off-Center!
    You usually see this occur on Nickels that were Off-Center struck more than 60%. I have 2 that I submitted to NGC at one time and have the same Uniface description. I will try to find out why this occurs.
    3443070-009+1.JPG 009.JPG 3443070-010+1.JPG 010.JPG

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Ok this is what I found -
    I want to share this definition with you from the ERROR-REF.com website -
    Definition: An off-center strike in which the coin is struck against an underlying or overlying planchet. The second situation happens less often. In either case, the face struck against the planchet is featureless; the opposite face is die-struck. In an off-center uniface strike, the entire face must be featureless. If any of it is die-struck, it is designated an off-center strike with indent.