1999 Connecticut quarter missing clad?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by PaNT3rA, Jun 13, 2019.

1. PaNT3rA

PaNT3rA Active Member

Hey fellas, I'm new to coin collecting and hunting and I just found this one and from what I can tell it's missing the clad on both sides, yes I know it's rare if it's real. I checked the side and it's all copper color and it's thinner than a normal quarter, also I looked for bumps made from acid stripping and I didn't notice anything. Please let me know what you guys think.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Pete Apple

Pete Apple Well-Known Member

It looks to me like your quarter has environmental discoloration. Were it missing clad, weight would be less than normal. Quarter weight missing one clad layer = 4.71 g +/- 0.347 g; missing two clad layers = 3.75 g +/- .467 g.

4. PaNT3rA

PaNT3rA Active Member

It definitely weights less, it much thinner than a normal quarter

5. PaNT3rA

PaNT3rA Active Member

The circumference is also smaller than a regular quarter

6. Snowman

Snowman Senior Member

looks like its been in the ground for awhile - usually when coins are in the ground they turn brown to black and the ground and/or water is acidic - which eat away at the coin depending on length of time and where it's been… etc

Anyone with a metal detector along as myself will say - clad coins usually turn like this from the ground

R_rabbit and paddyman98 like this.
  7. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Environmental damaged.

R_rabbit likes this.
  8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

A true missing clad layer usually only occurs just on one side of a clad coin. Your Quarter has Environmental Damage.

R_rabbit likes this.
  9. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist