1997 Cent Help

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Akovia, May 29, 2016.

1. Akovia

Akovia Member

Found this and wasn't sure what to make of it. The reverse has something in bay 7 I can't identify. I also see something in bay 8 that looks like it could be a continuation of what's in 7. It's seems flat like MD but I can't be sure. (Sometimes looks flat and sometimes not.) I see plenty of polishing marks so I wasn't sure if this was "tooled" in by over polishing?

Any insight is much appreciated.
    1997-P_Cent.jpg 1997-P_Cent-RE.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Could be a Clash from the image on the Obverse side. Or maybe not
    1c.JPG .. or may

Last edited: May 29, 2016
  4. tomfiggy

tomfiggy Well-Known Member

it could be a stain. I've been fooled by that before.

5. eric6794

eric6794 Well-Known Member

looks like a clash to me

6. Akovia

Akovia Member

That was the first thing I thought but I see nothing on the front, nor anything from the design that shows such a sharp edge.

I feel certain it's not a stain from looking at it closely with my loupe.

I am hoping someone could explain this, or it may just end up an oddity.

7. tomfiggy

It is not a doubled die

8. Akovia

Akovia Member

I never thought it was. Just curious what actually made this.

I applied to the Coneca forums and can hopefully get some answers there whenever they approve my membership. (*crosses fingers*)

Will post back if I find anything out.

9. tomfiggy

Of course they will approve your membership. Anther place to check is lincolncentforum.com

10. anderspud

anderspud Active Member

It looks too perfect to be a clash. In fact, it looks too much like a photographic trick. A picture of the Rev taken off center could rule out a clash.

11. Akovia

Akovia Member

Thanks!
    Already have an old membership there from long ago so didn't have to wait to post.