1996 double struck penny!

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by hight3k, Jul 24, 2016.

1. hight3k

hight3k New Member

Hi, I found a awesome 1996 double struck in collar penny with weak first strike a while back. I was wondering the value Of this error. Any info would be great.

Attached Files:

NSP and paddyman98 like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

IMO, you should have it authenticated, graded, and encapsulated by NGC or PCGS.
    To find a value, list it on eBay with an astronomical asking price with a make an offer option.
    I noticed that you have posted this coin on at least two other forums. Good idea.

hight3k likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Nice.. I say it's legit
    did you find this in circulation?
    The reason the 1st strike looks weak is because the 2nd strike caused some of the features to now be flattened.

hight3k likes this.
  5. cpm9ball

cpm9ball CANNOT RE-MEMBER

I agree! Submit it for grading, first.

Chris

hight3k likes this.
  6. Mojavedave

Mojavedave Senior Member

Terrific find.

hight3k likes this.
  7. M.V

M.V Member

Unique find. Congratulations

hight3k likes this.
  8. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

Very unique indeed. I'd get with a local coin collector/dealer who is submitting some coins and jump in on it to reduce costs.

hight3k likes this.
  9. rickmp

Not me. I'd send that one in on my own. I don't have enough trust to piggy-back that one.

hight3k and Seattlite86 like this.
  10. Seattlite86

Actually a very good point. I would take @rickmp on his advice and not hand this coin to anyone you don't trust with your bank account number.

hight3k likes this.
  11. hight3k

hight3k New Member

thanks for all the good information...I will send it for grading soon. I agree with rickmp 100%!..

Seattlite86 likes this.
  12. Seattlite86

Please update us on this thread once you get it back!