1996 D Improperly Annealed Planchet (Sintered)

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Brian Nguyen, Jun 13, 2018.

1. Brian Nguyen

Brian Nguyen Active Member

Hello everyone,
    Can any of you out there help me look at this Nickel? Was it an Improperly Annealed Planchet? It is some sort of Copper (Brown) color. Thanks for all your time. (Newbie to the forum) IMG_0013-ccfopt.jpg IMG_0011-ccfopt.jpg

Michael K likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Important question.. Where did you find it.
    If you got it out of circulation then it is most likely Environmental Damage.
    If you found it in a brand new uncirculated roll of 1996 Nickels then it could be.

4. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

Look at the edge. If it's shiny like a normal coin, then it could be improperly annealed, if it is the same color as the coin, then it's environmental damage.

I recall reading this explanation from a noted expert in a past CT post, but I'm not 100% certain, so somebody else may want to chime in

5. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

Coloring looks good. Photo the edge.
    But I don't think it's E.D.
    Need an expert.

6. RickO

RickO Active Member

It may be discolored... however, it is not 'sintered'. Sintered metal is a product of powdered metal technology and NOT used by the mint.

Nyatii likes this.
  7. Cheech9712

Cheech9712 Every thing is a guess

Don't we all see hundreds of these. Kinda minor or is it that it just is one

8. Brian Nguyen