1995D Double Die Reverse?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Kay67, May 13, 2024.

1. Kay67

Kay67 Member

I am well aware that the 1995 D Penny has the DDO variety. But could there be a variety with DDR? Tell me what you think. thanks!

Oops I added the same pic twice, how do I change that?

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. expat

expat Remember you are unique, just like everyone else Supporter

Looks to be more like split plate doubling IMO. Very common on copper covered zinc coins. If you see below the E of ONE, the darker line is the exposed zinc core.

4. Bill in Burl

Bill in Burl Collector

It looks to me like machine/mechanical doubling or die deterioration doubling. Just sloppy machinery, and not DDR.

VistaCruiser69 and Spark1951 like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

@Kay67
    Hello. That is not a doubled die variety.

Also, the correct Numismatic terminology is Doubled Die not double die. Big difference.

Here it is used on a popular coin magazine..

20180522_044741.jpg

VistaCruiser69 and SensibleSal66 like this.
  6. Spark1951

Spark1951 Accomplishment, not Activity

Wexler lists 7 DDO and 6 DDR for 1995D LMC. If you suspect doubling, this is where you go to confirm what you think you have. Also CONECA/Variety Vista.
    doubleddie.com for Wexler. Varietyvista.com for CONECA.

Reiterating what the other members have said, your coin has die deterioration doubling. I actually perused the listings for this date earlier today and I can tell you those varieties listed at Wexler do not match anything on your coin.
    …imo…Spark

Last edited: May 13, 2024
    Cheech9712 likes this.
  7. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

I’m not seeing true doubling. Welcome to CT.

8. Kevin Mader

Kevin Mader Fellow Coin Enthusiast Supporter

The 1995 D DDO is the best variety from that date. I’m glad you are awareness of its existence.