1992 D 1C DD Date error or not?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by chucknthecountry, Jul 27, 2017.

1. chucknthecountry

chucknthecountry New Member

Ok I came across this coin and the date looks like maybe a die or planchette rotation! Anyone have any thoughts?

IMG_2170.JPG IMG_2169.JPG IMG_2162.JPG

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. steve.e

steve.e Cherry picker

DDD die deterioration doubling. Check the rev to see if it's a close am.

Tyler Graton likes this.
  4. chucknthecountry

View attachment 656483 View attachment 656483 I first thought the same but it's a wide AM . That's why I'm puzzled! If you look at the start of second 9 it almost looks like it when it was punched it rotated counter clockwise and upward.

5. chucknthecountry

6. chucknthecountry

When I pull it in closer I can actually see slide / groves where the die struck the copper plating . Steve I value your opinion as I'm new at this and if this is what a DDD looks like I'll know when I see it again. Thanks for your help!

Tyler Graton and steve.e like this.
  7. steve.e

steve.e Cherry picker

Sorry I didn't realize you were a new member.
    Welcome to cointalk!!! We see a lot mechanical and deterioration doubling here. It can easily be mistaken for a true doubled die. There are a lot of great websites,and books out there. Doubleddie.com, varietyvista.com, coppercoin.com. Check them out, and keep hunting! The goods will come. Good luck, happy hunting!!!!

8. chucknthecountry

Thanks again Steve..... this is getting fun!

9. Patrick O'Kane

Patrick O'Kane New Member

Hi
    I am Patrick,