1989 lincoln cent crustacean and metallic dirt

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Avery G., Feb 25, 2020.

1. Avery G.

Avery G. Active Member

The coin has several affected areas on obverse and 1 area on reverse. Last pic is for comparison from ngccoin.com. all opinions welcome.

20200225_093219.jpg 20200224_143823.jpg 0224-8.jpg 0224-23.jpg 0224-5.jpg 0224-16.jpg 0225-10.jpg 0224-33.jpg 0503_Droppedphoto1_lg.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Collecting Nut

Collecting Nut Borderline Hoarder

Spend it before it rots away.

4. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

Wow, this is like trying to compare road kill to a side of beef.
    Not even worth the effort.

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

@cpm9ball says.. Crappy Zincoln

Here are it's relatives with Environmental Damage I found metal detecting..
    20190707_162330(1).jpg
    20190707_162338.jpg

Yours is also environmental damage.. Not a Mint Error of any kind :yack:

Last edited: Feb 25, 2020
  6. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

Do you believe that this might be a mint made error?

The NGC picture shows some grease/metal filings “schmutz” that’s responsible for the majority of filled die errors. Grease from the equipment mixes with small metal particles from the equipment and planchets to form this mixture that can occasionally land on a planchet or die. Minor filled dies are common. While it’s unusual to still have of the material still adhered to the coin, it really isn’t anything more than a curiosity, although it does provide a good picture for an educational opportunity.