1989 D Lincoln Penny

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Charlie Cliques, May 4, 2019.

1. Charlie Cliques

Charlie Cliques Active Member

Soo..I'm sure the answer to is this a doubled die coin is no, its only machine doubling... because I'm usually wrong when I think it's real doubling lol...but thought I'd try again and also use this post at at the very least as an opportunity to share this beautiful (in my opinion) toned penny I found

20190504_180521.jpg 20190504_181619.jpg 20190504_225059.jpg 20190504_224913.jpg 20190504_224719.jpg 20190504_225155.jpg 20190504_223720.jpg 20190504_223532.jpg 20190504_223936.jpg 20190504_180850.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Charlie Cliques

4. LaCointessa

LaCointessa Well-Known Member

Looks like a plating issue? But I'm not an expert so wait for one to come along.

Also, about the toning. I am not sure. But there is some toning that suggests coins have been in contact with urine and other types of substances. Not sure about your coin. Again, the experts can look and almost know in an instant. I hope your coin has "good" toning and not the yucky icky kind.

R_rabbit likes this.
  5. R_rabbit

R_rabbit Well-Known Member

:)
    Hi Charlie,
    Imho,it looks like md with some die deterioration. Not sure on the platting issue but I like the Toning!

Charlie Cliques and LaCointessa like this.
  6. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

I am not sure what caused the color, But deep purples and red brown is a natural color for aged copper. As for anything else you are seeing. It shows many different types of worthless doubling.
    Have you read through this site?
    http://doubleddie.com/144801.html
    Even if you have it is worth reading over and over until it gets instilled into your brain.
    DDO's and DDR's are valuable because they are rare, and you shouldn't expect to find one unless you know what you are looking at.
    Here are the different classes of Doubled Dies.