1989 cent Misaligned die question

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by dollar, May 22, 2018.

1. dollar

dollar Junior Member

Both sides seem to be misaligned. Would this be called something other than misaligned die? 1989fullobv.jpg 1989fullrev.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. dollar

dollar Junior Member

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. *coins

*coins Well-Known Member

Nice find and cool error there.

dollar likes this.
  6. APX78

APX78 Well-Known Member

Great Find!

dollar likes this.
  7. enamel7

enamel7 Junior Member

Or if it's on the same area of both sides it would be an off center strike. Still not enough for added value.

dollar likes this.
  8. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

Only an off-center if part of the design is off the planchet. If not then it is just misaligned dies if the collar is present, or an uncentered broadstrike if the collar is not present.

Rev die appears to be misaligned, if the obv is it is VERY slight.

dollar likes this.
  9. mikediamond

mikediamond Coin Collector

The obverse face is not misaligned. It just shows slight finning of the rim. The reverse face is not misaligned enough to be considered an error.

dollar likes this.
  10. enamel7

enamel7 Junior Member

I don't believe that's correct. I'll leave it to Mike to answer that.

dollar likes this.
  11. mikediamond