1988 Penny with LIIberty

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Morris A Acuff, May 3, 2019.

1. Just so you guys know you Are teaching this old dog Slowly. My guess is Die Deterioration on Liberty. It looks A bit off center on Both sides, which brings me to my question. What causes the bubble appearance on the top left side??

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Hi.. The reason your Cent looks the way it does is because it was struck with a worn die. Definitely Die Deterioration.

4. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member

alurid likes this.
  5. i2i

i2i Active Member

So, most never read or absorb what they read. You stated "die deterioration" and asked a question.
    I think the "bubble" that you refer to is just from the pressure of the die on copper coated zink planchet. It is more difficult to mint the newer/post 1981 penny. In fact, there was a switch to "small date" in 1982, when zinc was introduced, because there was difficulty during the transition. The small date was easier to mint.

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

What the heck are you talking about? You are so weird!

Oldhoopster likes this.
  7. Appreciate that. The 2 I's were pretty easy but I actually picked up 2 pennies with the Ridge Ring. An apple for the Teacher.

8. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member

totally incorrect...

Oldhoopster and paddyman98 like this.
  9. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

You're confusing too many things, and in turn, potentially confusing a collector who is trying to learn. Go to error-ref and look up ridge ring (I think it's there). If not read about die deterioration.