1988 P Quarter Lamination Error?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Brandoniak, May 3, 2012.

1. Brandoniak

Brandoniak New Member

Hello everyone, I just found this quarter in the register at my work. I'm usually on the lookout for odd coins, and I noticed this one made a different sound when it hit the other quarters and it was brown/copper on one side. I'm completely new to this, so I figured I would ask the experts and see if you guys agree that there is a lamination error/missing clad layer. I included a regular quarter to the right of it just for reference and the other side looks normal to me, but I'm no expert. Thanks.

http://i.pgu.me/iVbqBVAc_original.jpg
    http://i.pgu.me/CT5K+qVT_original.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Stang1968

Stang1968 Member

Very interesting... what does the edge of the coin look like?

4. Brandoniak

Brandoniak New Member

The edge was very difficult to photograph, but I tried :confused: It looks like a normal quarter edge, just missing the thin silver-colored strip corresponding to the obverse: ~25% silver-colored on the edge corresponding to the normal reverse, the rest is that brown/copper color.

Crappy pic: http://i.pgu.me/hZ12y6Of_original.jpg

5. Brandoniak

Brandoniak New Member

6. rnino

rnino New Member

It looks like the type I have also

I have attached pics. it appears that it is missing the clad layer on yours?

Attached Files:

7. Brandoniak

Brandoniak New Member

I'm not sure, it appears that the clad layer is missing entirely on mine but it could have happened either during the minting process or after. I was hoping someone on here with more experience with these types of errors might be able to help determine which one it was. Sorry I can't help with yours either, hopefully someone will come along with answers for both of us.

8. rickmp

rickmp Frequently flatulent.

Welcome to CT, Brandon.