1988 D penny possible DDO?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by MatrixMP-9, Nov 3, 2019.

1. MatrixMP-9

MatrixMP-9 Well-Known Member

I was checking this one out and thought at first it might be an RPM since the MM was so thick on the east side of it. I tried to line up some RPMs and I dont think they quite line up.

I went ahead and checked VV and Wexlers for 88 D DDOs and it looks like the MM positioning among others things look right. DDO 001 on variety vista?? These lincolns are so hard to look at with all the blistering and soforth. For me its really tough to match up gouges and markers.

IMG_7407.jpg IMG_7408.jpg IMG_7409.jpg Snapshot000003.jpg Snapshot000000.jpg Snapshot000001.jpg Snapshot000002.jpg Snapshot000004.jpg Snapshot000005.jpg Snapshot000006.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

DDD - Die Deterioration Doubling
    Not a Doubled Die.. IMHO

4. MatrixMP-9

Thanks Paddy. That D just looks way too thick and with that weird layer look to it. I cant definitively line anything up. Its even harder with all the blistering and PMD.

5. Seattlite86

Seattlite86 Outspoken Member

I think that if you spend a little more time learning about doubled dies, you'd comfortably come to the conclusion that this is not one.

doubling explained.jpeg doubling.jpg

6. MatrixMP-9