1987 Memorial DD or PMD

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by MatrixMP-9, Jun 11, 2018.

1. MatrixMP-9

MatrixMP-9 Well-Known Member

This 87 really stuck out when looking through a roll. I cant tell for certain if its a mint error or PMD. "GOD" just doesnt look right and neither does "Liberty". alost like they were smeared or something. Also, does his tie always look like that? It looks wrong. 87.jpg 873.jpg 875.jpg 876.jpg 877.jpg 878.jpg 879.jpg 8710.jpg 8712.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. MatrixMP-9

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

It is just a worn die strike issue.. Die Deterioration on all you are seeing.

5. MatrixMP-9

I feel dumb asking this since I look at pennies so much lately. The light in my microscope died and needs batteries so I cant even look at normal pennies to see if the "tie" is right. I looked at some online and cant even make a good determination. does it look right? That little part on what would be Lincolns left...that little part sticking out?

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

About the bowtie... anything that needs to be magnified that much really is nothing major..
    It is a plated Cent so there could be a minor plating issue on the bowtie.

Pickin and Grinin likes this.
  7. MatrixMP-9

Makes sense. thank you!

8. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

This is a fad that everything must be looked at in high definition and more than 5* magnification. It has made the process of checking for Variety's quite ridiculous.

Santinidollar likes this.
  9. MatrixMP-9