1986 Quarter error. Off-center and appears to have partial "8" and" 6" on edge. LIBERTY errors too.

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Ryan Thomas, Feb 20, 2017.

1. Ryan Thomas

Ryan Thomas New Member

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. BlackBeard_Thatch

BlackBeard_Thatch Captain of the Queen Anne's Revenge

Cant really see it in that single picture, mind taking an clear one?

4. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

You will need better images.

5. Paul M.

Paul M. Well-Known Member

It doesn't look off center from the picture you've posted. Possibly a slightly misaligned die. I can't really comment further without better pics. Shoot the coin straight on, obverse and reverse, with the entire coin in focus.

6. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982

Sorry, but it just looks like a normal 1986

7. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

30 years of circulation wear.

8. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

9. Kristacoin

Kristacoin New Member

I have a 1986 quarter which too is different. If anyone can shed light on the possible error?!
    Best way to describe it, is it feels and looks like it was imprinted too hard.
    It’s the same sharpness on both sides, and around the rim is completely smooth.

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg

10. paddyman98

What you have is damage to the edge. Someone taped it with a hammer or spoon to flatten it. We have seen many like yours here on CoinTalk.

Coins are minted/struck not printed. Paper Currency is printed.

And.. Next coin and question you have, you should create your own unique thread with a simple title. Like '1986 Quarter with strange looks features'

11. Broadstruck

12. you are one of the main reasons i stay away from this forum
    btw.......broadstruck look it up educate yourself

13. Oldhoopster

Oldhoopster Member of the ANA since 1982