1984-D dime

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by kgenks, Jan 10, 2021.

1. kgenks

kgenks New Member

Hello. Does anyone know if this dime is a mint error or has it just been through a wood chipper? I believe it’s a DDO also.

Attached Files:

SensibleSal66 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

:doctor: Wow, man. You serious . You can't tell ? Ok. Good Night all.

4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

DEFDAM - Definitely Damaged :yack:

Not a Mint Error nor Doubled Die variety.

What's it worth? 10 Cents. Only if a store would accept it. A CoinStar machine would actually reject it.

Suggestion.. Create any future threads over at the Error Coins forum here on CoinTalk. First worry about what you have. Value is the last thing to be concerned about.

Welcome to CoinTalk

5. coloradobryan

coloradobryan Well-Known Member

Worth 10 cents to whoever you can pay with it.

6. kgenks

kgenks New Member

Wow. Love the supportive responses to a FEMALE who is brand new to coin collecting.

7. ldhair

ldhair Clean Supporter

I'll go with wood chipper or kitchen sink disposal. :D

8. expat

expat Remember you are unique, just like everyone else Supporter

Hi @kgenks welcome to CT. Your coin has suffered damage after it left the mint. As a newcomer it would be advisable to learn as much as you can about the minting process and about how doubled dies are created. There are many forms of no added value doubling and true doubled die varieties are harder to come by found in circulation. Here are a couple of sites that explain very well the various stages of the process. Learning this will make it easier to analyse your coins
    https://doubleddie.com/
    http://varietyvista.com/
    Hope this helps

9. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

10. Randy Abercrombie

Randy Abercrombie Supporter! Supporter