1983 penny die brake?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Rob336, Mar 1, 2018.

1. Rob336

Rob336 Member

I'm looking for some opinions on if y'all think this is a die brake or not. It under the date on the bottom of coat. Thanks for any help. Picture_20184301084332.jpg Picture_20184301084332.jpg Picture_20184301084332.jpg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

The word is actually break not brake

I can't tell what the picture shows

Last edited: Mar 1, 2018
  4. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

I am leaning against a cud, because of the evidence of a double rim to the left of it. Might be damage, could be from a finned rim.

5. dchjr

dchjr Well-Known Member

Are you talking about what looks like a piece of the bust broke off at the bottom? Probably took a hit.

6. vintagemintage

vintagemintage Well-Known Member

There's a lot of die polishing marks in that area, maybe lost some detail on the bust over-polishing.

Rick Stachowski likes this.
  7. Conder101

Conder101 Numismatist

If you're talking about the separation there at the bottom point of the coat, that's the result of die polishing. The low relief area between the coat and the triangular segment has been polished down to the level the field creating the separation.

Stevearino and paddyman98 like this.
  8. Rob336

Rob336 Member

Thanks for the response. I found this coin roll hunting, and wasn't sure.

9. Rob336

Rob336 Member

I'm not arguing the points made. Just got a question. Would the piece be moved away from polishing? And why would someone polish it?

10. BooksB4Coins

BooksB4Coins Newbieus Sempiterna