1983 2 1/2 Dollar

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Illinois Newby, Dec 28, 2017.

1. IMG_20171227_173525441.jpg Is this the real deal or have I been spoofed? IMG_20171227_173545187.jpg

Last edited: Dec 28, 2017
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Where does it say 1983? Always post both sides of any coin you have questions about. Also show the edge.

4. Nathan401

Nathan401 Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Please post pic of other side of the coin.

5. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

Is it roughly the size of a dime or cent? If it is, it may be the real deal.

6. Sorry, I;m new at this and thought I had both sides.

7. wcoins

wcoins GEM-ber

It's 1893 not 1983. Looks real to me. Try posting a picture with the entire holder visible.

8. Closer to dime size

Attached Files:

9. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

Looking better by the minute.

Rick Stachowski likes this.
  10. calcol

calcol Supporter! Supporter

Looks real, but can't be sure from pics alone. Also looks to be uncirculated. Handle with care (no bare fingers, no metal, no sliding or rubbing, no cleaning ... among other things). Is it in an album or a plastic holder? Where did you get it?

Welcome!

Cal

11. In my Fathers collection. It is in a plastic holder, can you see the pic with the dime and penny? they are on top of the holder with the coin inside.

12. It is in a plastic holder, so I will not be touching it. Should this be professionally graded? How would I go about getting that done?

13. Do you have any suggestions as to proceeding with this?

14. mikenoodle

mikenoodle The Village Idiot Supporter

It's a 1893 $2 1/2 gold coin. It is worth at least the melt value of the gold, potentially more.

15. wcoins

wcoins GEM-ber