1982D zinc small date DDR / RPM ?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Coin Addict 2018, Jul 16, 2018.

1. I found what appears to be the very first ever 1982D small date zinc DDR/ RPM ... And a 1983 DD coin with the same kind of doubling that I found from the Lincoln Cent Resource under TOP 50 DOUBLED DIES . And i was wondering if anyone has ever seen one of these before and what is the value of this particular coin ?

Screenshot_20180715-225910.png IMG_20180715_224643.jpg IMG_20180715_224040.jpg IMG_20180715_231455.jpg IMG_20180715_224822.jpg IMG_20180715_224815.jpg

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jul 16, 2018
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Read it again carefully..
    It says DOUBLED DIES.. not DOUBLE DIES.. double die is incorrect

Newbie69 likes this.
  4. Well thanks for the spelling correction on that typo paddyman98 . LOL

paddyman98 likes this.
  5. Pickin and Grinin

Pickin and Grinin Well-Known Member

All the doubling on your coin looks flat and shelf like. The secondary devices are much lower. I don't see it as a DDR or a RPM.

6. Clawcoins

Clawcoins Damaging Coins Daily

quote from
    https://www.thesprucecrafts.com/coin-mechanical-doubling-768461

fyi, read the last paragraph over and over again.
    = = = = =
    Definition
    Mechanical doubling, also called machine doubling or strike doubling, a form of doubling which appears on a coin and is easily confused with doubled die strikes. On a true doubled die coin, the doubling comes from a mistake in the process used to make the coin die itself. In mechanical, or machine doubling, the doubled image results from mechanical issues during the striking of the coin, such as the coin shifting during striking, or the die itself being jarred out of position as a result of vibration or improper coin press maintenance.