1982 Small Date D Copper penny?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by TXSilverStacker, Oct 21, 2018.

1. TXSilverStacker

TXSilverStacker New Member

I been meaning to join a coin forums for months now as I got into silver stacking, from there collection 90%, where I then became interested in coins in general.

I made a habit of checking all my pocket change and one day got what I believe to be a small date Denver meant copper penny. it weighs in at 3.05grams so I'm absolutely sure it's copper. What I'm not certain about is if it's small date, it appears to be so to me but I'm no expert.

I do not have a fancy camera so these I took with my phone are the best I can do, hopefully they are good enough.

1982Penny.jpg 1982Penny2.jpg 1982Penny3.jpg

alurid likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Clearly a large date. Don't need a fancy camera for that.

4. TXSilverStacker

Thanks for the quick reply.

I look like an idiot, but at least I didn't spend money getting it graded to look like an idiot.

5. furryfrog02

furryfrog02 Well-Known Member

Hey at least you are admitting you didn't know what you had. Better than a lot of first time posters here who think they have this coin.
    Welcome aboard and hope you stay around. Lots to learn here :)

Stevearino and TXSilverStacker like this.
  6. Heavymetal

Heavymetal Well-Known Member

We love to authenticate rare coins. It’s what we love. Come back with any question

TXSilverStacker likes this.
  7. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member

Just compare to this photo to get the 2. And then weigh it.
    1982-varieties-revised.jpg

8. TXSilverStacker

Ah yes, browsing the forums I stumbled upon two other threads posted in the past few days of people thinking they had one.

Do you guys ever get tired of it?

Clawcoins and paddyman98 like this.
  9. Heavymetal

Heavymetal Well-Known Member

Welcome aboard TX. Stay for a full ride

10. TXSilverStacker