1982 D red copper penny error

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Mayela, Oct 1, 2019.

1. Mayela

Mayela Member

Its Its missing the 1 and most of the 9 What you think

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. spirityoda

spirityoda Coin Junky

a grease filled die or just damage ?

4. MontCollector

MontCollector Well-Known Member

Looks like a little of both.

5. Mayela

Mayela Member

What your saying is that oil or damage cause numbers not visible would be from the facrory they were made or circulation how do we know for shure

6. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

First.. There is definitely damaged on the date..

The rest..
    When the Cent was minted at the Mint Facility (factory) the die that was used was used too many times before it was replaced by a new Die. They would wipe it with an oil to maintain the die. The incused area of the the die would get filled with the oil and after more strikes it would become compacted filling it. This will cause the letters and numbers to look weak when it struck the blank planchet.

How do I or we know for sure.. I have been learning the minting proccess for 34 years now. I even visited the Philadelphia US Mint to see how coins are made.

Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
  7. MontCollector

Welcome to CT!!

well yes and no. now let me explain.

From what it looks like to me is this is a Grease filled die error. This is what caused the 1 not to be present. When cleaning the dies off sometime grease fills the devices on the die. Keep in mind what is raised on a coin is incuse on the die. This error was caused by the MINT (not factory) and yes left the mint this way.

The 9 on the other hand is hard to tell due to the clarity of your photos. This could be part of the Grease filled die error or it may be damage. If it is damaged, this happened AFTER it left the mint and is called Post Mint Damage or PMD for short.