1981 quarter that looks different

Discussion in 'What's it Worth' started by Matthew32, Apr 3, 2020.

1. Matthew32

Matthew32 New Member

Can someone tell me why this quarter looks to be copper? Is it an error or is this something worth something. I'm new to the coin world and any advice is very appreciated. Thank you received_1312561702266350.jpeg received_533548983966407.jpeg

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. tmeyer

tmeyer Au hunter

Looks like it was in the ground. Lets see what others say.

Spark1951 and Matthew32 like this.
  4. Environmentally damaged coins such as this appear on this site with remarkable regularity.

spirityoda and Matthew32 like this.
  5. Mr.Q

Mr.Q Well-Known Member

Now this is a Quarter. This has been seen by three numismatist and all 3 say I should send it to PCGS for authenticity and grading, but I am reluctant to do that. It appears to have 5 anomalies. It is a 2008 Colorado Grand Canyon coin. I would like to hear from what you about the coin, thank you. By the way all 3 say they have never seen a coin like this! IMG_1747.jpeg

chuck123 and Matthew32 like this.
  6. ken454

ken454 Well-Known Member

PCGS wont grade this coin, its obviously a squeeze job, and if your 3 "numismatists" cant see that, then they are obviously amateurs or they are messin with you...

7. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Not an error. Environmental Toning damage to the clad layer.
    Here are examples from my metal detecting finds -
    20190519_144614-1.jpg 20190519_144632-1.jpg 20190504_174319-1.jpg 20171224_140434.jpg 20190316_113034-1.jpg KenObv.jpg KenRev.jpg

juris klavins and Matthew32 like this.
  8. paddyman98

DEFDAM - Definitely Damaged
    Altered after it left the US Mint.
    Tell those 3 people they are totally wrong.

Also.. Start your own unique seperate thread next time.

- Mr. Ed
    Specializing in collecting Mint Errors since 1986

Kentucky and spirityoda like this.