1981 Lincoln penny double die?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Gloria92D, Jan 16, 2018.

1. Gloria92D

Gloria92D New Member

I am new to coin collecting and looking for any information on this type of error. I have a 1981 penny that appears to have been stamped twice. Is this error common? Would this coin be worth more than face value? 554B2F2E-1CA6-41B1-A440-F46392D2D508.jpeg 9FB77BE7-8985-4D76-B53E-6504C38187BC.jpeg

longshot, dchjr, alurid and 2 others like this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. 352sdeer

352sdeer Collecting Lincoln cents for 50 years!

This is VERY interesting at first glance I thought vise job but no it’s not! @paddyman98 might have a quick answer for you let’s see. I say it looks like some kind of misaligned die clash Obverse and Reverse. OH....... PADDYMAN!

Welcome to CT.
    Reed

Gloria92D and paddyman98 like this.
  4. beef1020

beef1020 Junior Member

Looks like a double struck penny, very cool. Not a vise job and definitely not a die clash. I would wait for others to confirm.

Gloria92D and paddyman98 like this.
  5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Not a Doubled Die.
    I agree with @beef1020 ... A Double Struck.
    Rotated Double Struck within Collar. And also a Misaligned Die Strike.

If it were a vise job the first stirke would appear incused and images backwards.
    The second strike is everything that looks like a normal strike.

I love it. This is a true major Mint Error.

Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
    352sdeer and Gloria92D like this.
  6. Willysilver

Willysilver HEADS UP Supporter

Nice find

Gloria92D likes this.
  7. paddyman98

8. alurid

alurid Well-Known Member

Welcome to Coin Talk. Never seen such a coin, Very interesting.

Gloria92D likes this.
  9. paddyman98

Google Double Struck within Collar and you will see different examples.