1979 SBA

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Joshua White, Oct 17, 2017.

1. Joshua White

Joshua White New Member

Just found these in my Grandpa's change bucket.

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

4. midtncoin

midtncoin Well-Known Member

JW, Sorry to tell you but they are common as dirt and only worth a dollar. At my office, we have a change machine that gives change for $5's, $10's, and $20's in dollar coins for the vending machines and about 10% of what it spits out are Susies. Most modern vending machines accept dollar coins so go grab an ice cold soda with them.

5. V. Kurt Bellman

V. Kurt Bellman Yes, I'm blunt! Get over your "feeeeelings".

In the universe of Susan B. Anthony dollars, this is the most common one, the 1979-P with the "far date / narrow rim". Literally any other date / mintmark / variety is better. This coin is collectable only if in unusually pristine condition. I have a few like that, but it takes some looking.

6. Joshua White

Joshua White New Member

I also came across this one ...It was tucked away in a hanky ...And from what I can tell it looks like the wide rim near date..?.

Attached Files:

7. V. Kurt Bellman

Yes, sir, it does appear to be one.

8. Joshua White

Joshua White New Member

My first real find!!! Im hooked!

9. V. Kurt Bellman

Like many of them, it's a little banged up. Here's an exercise in thought - Why are the wide rim variety usually found in not quite as nice a condition as the narrow rim? There is a numismatic answer. Think about production schedules and the "art" of hoarding.

10. Joshua White

Joshua White New Member

First thought.... Because there is more mass around the edges which leaves the rest of the coin a little thinner and more malleable..?

11. Michael K

Michael K Well-Known Member