1977 penny error ?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Osborne8727, Jul 12, 2019.

1. Osborne8727

Osborne8727 New Member

I have 2 1977 pennies one is a D the other is just 1977 I am new to collecting and not very knowledgeable with coins. I was wondering what everyone thought about these 2 pennies error or no ? The date looks different on them and the color is different ...and the D looks like a possible Pacman error! IMG_20190712_052117677.jpg IMG_20190712_052117677.jpg IMG_20190712_052117677.jpg IMG_20190712_052117677.jpg

Attached Files:

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Different US Mints
    D is Denver
    No Mint Mark is Philadelphia

Both your Cents have Environmental Damage toning.
    None are mint errors.

Pacman error is something made up that is not officially recognized.

Spark1951 and R_rabbit like this.
  4. Osborne8727

Osborne8727 New Member

Okay why Are the 2 dates so different ?

5. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Circulation wear and tear altered the appearance.
    They have been in the wild for 42 years.

Spark1951 and Oldhoopster like this.
  6. Autoturf

Autoturf Well-Known Member

Here is a couple you can have if you want to pay for postage. undamaged/uncirculated but not the best even out of mint package.
    IMG_20190712_082105345.jpg

7. Autoturf

Ozborne these guys have seen thousands (understatement), your coins are not special. people who don't know, often try to argue their coin is more than it is. if you don't have an open mind to learn what is or is not, it will be hard for you to learn, You ask why are the dates different, as if to argue something, lets start with they are two different dies, they are two different mints, you have two damaged coins, that are damaged different. the mint produced over 4 billion of each, both mints 4.1 billion each. you have no error.

8. Autoturf