1976-S Quarter silver?

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by steve63, Oct 15, 2018.

1. steve63

steve63 Active Member

I received a 1976-S quarter in change recently. Based on the coloration I suspect it might be silver (I believe they made both clad and silver 1976-S quarters). Does anyone know of an easy way to tell for sure if it's silver?

Robert91791 likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

Try the tissue test
    download.jpeg

4. CoinCorgi

CoinCorgi Tell your dog I said hi!

Silver issue— Weight 5.75 grams; composition, outer layers of .800 silver, .200 copper bonded to inner core of .209 silver, .791 copper (net weight .0739 oz. pure silver).

Copper-nickel issue— Weight 5.67 grams; composition, outer layers of .750 copper, .250 nickel bonded to inner core of pure copper.

Yeoman, R.S.. A Guide Book of United States Coins 2015: The Official Red Book

5. Double Die

Double Die I know just enough to be dangerous

Use the single ply cheap stuff. Two ply is too thick for a good read.

steve63, Hoky77 and paddyman98 like this.
  6. Robert91791

Robert91791 Well-Known Member

You should be able to tell by the reed of the coin and the other way would be the sound of the coin easily.

steve63 likes this.
  7. Hoky77

Hoky77 Well-Known Member

Balance the quarter on the tip of one finger and gently tap the edge with another coin. If it has a pleasing ping it is silver, if it is more of a clunk it's a clad. Try it on a clad first.

steve63 likes this.
  8. Sullysullinburg

Sullysullinburg Well-Known Member

So I’ve never had a 40% Quarter, but isn’t it the same composition as 40% halfs? Can you not just look at the edge?

steve63 and alurid like this.
  9. CoinCorgi

Yes. But the OP's coin could be a plated clad quarter. Plated to look silver, thus the edge would look like the edge of a 40% or 90% silver quarter.

10. Sullysullinburg