1976 D 10c - Didn't they gold plate some for the Bicentenial?

Discussion in 'Error Coins' started by Tankkiller275, Oct 15, 2020.

1. Tankkiller275

Tankkiller275 Active Member

I've had this coin for a very long time and was going through my meager collection when I rediscovered it. Is is a gold-plated dime? It weighs 2.29g and a "normal" dime I checked weighed 2.30g. So I don't believe it was made using a different metal.

1976 D 10c Gold.1a.jpg
    1976 D 10c Gold.1b.jpg
    1976 D 10c Gold.2a.jpg
    1976 D 10c Gold.2b.jpg

The scratch to the neck doesn't expose the "normal" color of a dime.
    1976 D 10c Gold.Compare.jpg
    1976 D 10c Gold.Edge.jpg

I cannot remember much about this coin. What say you?

~Rob

2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. SensibleSal66

SensibleSal66 U.S Casual Collector / Error Collector

Wow yours is really golden.I believe yours is plated.

spirityoda likes this.
  4. paddyman98

paddyman98 I'm a professional expert in specializing! Supporter

No. The US Mint did not gold plate Dimes back then.
    What you are seeing is some kind of environmental toning or alteration to the clad. Occured after it left the US Mint

Last edited: Oct 15, 2020
    Mr.Q, Andrew Snovell and Inspector43 like this.
  5. SensibleSal66

look familiar ?
    dime front-tile.jpg

6. Tankkiller275

Thanks Paddy... I thought they ran a Bicentennial series that was gold plated? I'm pretty sure they did for the higher denominations but not sure about the dime. I bought that coin well over 35 years ago, so can't remember. Could be that I was a gullible kid back then too...

~Rob

7. Tankkiller275

Sensible, Mine is very bright, not subdued and does not have the surface wear the one in your pictures seem to have. When I bought it as a kid I kept it in my coin box in a sleeve. Been that way for 35+ years.

~Rob

8. SensibleSal66

Yes you are right , Maybe just toned

9. l.cutler

l.cutler Member