1975 Lincoln Penny

Discussion in 'Coin Chat' started by Slobberknockers, Sep 18, 2007.

1. Slobberknockers

Slobberknockers New Member

I am new to the hobby and my grandfather gave me a handful of old coins years ago that I just held on to. I recently started to go thru them and noticed the following.

I have a 1975 Lincoln penny that to the left of his head is an imprint of what looks like the Liberty Bell and on the right of his head is an imprint of the USA with the letters U.S.A. imprinted inside of the USA outline imprint.

I have never seen this before and was just wondering if at somepoint an individual may have done this or if this is something unique.

thanks!

capthank likes this.
  2. Avatar

Guest User Guest

to hide this ad.
  3. Treashunt

Treashunt The Other Frank

okay:
    1) welcome.
    2) this is a post mint (done outside the mint) punching to the coin.
    NO value.

4. hontonai

hontonai Registered Contrarian

It's not super common, but definitely not unique. There are a number of organizations and individuals who stamp symbols, letters, and designs on coins - usually but not always cents - for their own political, self-aggrandizement, or other purposes.

After being defaced, the coins are permanently fixed at face value, unless of course they are demonetized and become worth only a discounted metallic value. Very sad.

5. Coinlover

Coinlover The Coin Collector

got a 1976 cent with the outline of texas on it. they made them becuase of the bicentinal. they also stamped the man on the moon on the 1969 cents. no value over face, but still neat!:cool:

6. Just Carl

Just Carl Numismatist

Welcome. True it is post Mint addition. Many are out there. Some people now collect those. Not really anything worth a lot but if your interested, you could start a collection of them.

7. Caderobinson

Caderobinson New Member

I came across a 1943 copper penny just now how much is it worth

8. gronnh20

gronnh20 Well-Known Member